2011 SC 88
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

ORDER

RULES RELATING TO CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION

Supreme Court Rule 803 is hereby amended, effective the date of this order.

RULE 8§03

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

()  Credit Hours. An active practitioner must earn a minimum of 12 CLE credit hours at
approved programs in each compliance period (July 1 to June 30). Of the 12 hours, at least 2
hours must be in the area of ethics and professionalism.

{b)  Carryover Credit. If an active practitioner completes CLE credit hours at approved
programs during a compliance period exceeding the number of hours required by subsection (a)
and the practitioner complies with the requirements of Rule 806, the practitioner may carry
forward to the next compliance period up to 10 unused general attendance credit hours from the
compliance period during which the credit hours were earned. However, ethics and
professionalism credit hours in excess of the 2-hour requirement in subsection (a) may be carried
forward as general attendance credit hours but not as ethics and professionalism credit. CLE
credit hours approved for teaching, authorship, or law practice management credit do not qualify
for carryover credit.

{c)  Reporting. CLE credit hours at an approved program for each attorney must be reported
to the Commission in the form and manner the Commission prescribes.

(d)  Exemptions. The following attorneys are not required to fulfill the CLE requirement in
subsection (a):

{1) An attorney newly admitted to practice law in Kansas during the period prior to the
first compliance period beginning after admission to practice.

(2) Anattorney during the time the attorney is on retired or inactive status pursuant to
Supreme Court Rule 208 and registered on inactive status with the CLE Commission.

(3) A federal or state justice or judge who is prohibited from engaging in the private
practice of law.



(4) An attorney exempted by the Commission for good cause pursuant to subsection (e).

(e} Exemptions for Good Cause. The Commission may grant an exemption to the strict
requirement of these rules to complete continuing legal education because of good cause, e. g,
disability or hardship. A request for exemption must be submitted to the Commission in writing
with full explanation of the circumstances necessitating the request. An attomey with a disability
or hardship that affects the attorney’s ability to attend CLE programs may file annually a request
for a substitute program in lieu of attendance and must propose a substitute program the attorney
can complete, The Commission must review and approve or disapprove a substitute program on
an individual basis. An attorney who receives approval of a substitute program is responsible for
the annual CLE fee required by Rule 808.

(f)  Legislative Service. An attorney serving in the Kansas Legislature may, on request,
receive a reduction of 6 of the 10 general attendance credit hours required for the compliance
period in which the attorney serves.

()  Accommodation for Attorneys Emploved Qut-of-Country. An attormey emploved full
time outside the United States for a minimum of 8 months during the compliance period may,
upon written request and preapproval, complete the annual CLE requirement by nontraditional

programming.

BY ORDER OF THE COURT this 3 day of November, 2011.

FOR THE COURT

Lawt R. Nuss
Chief Justice



