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IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS
CAROL G. GREEN
CLERK APPELLATE COURTS

02 SC 34

ORDER

RULES ADOPTED BY THE STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS
OF COURT REPORTERS

No. 12. Rates

Rule No. 12 is hereby amended, effective July 1, 2002.

(A) Effective July 1, 1999, the rate for official district court transcripts shall be
$2.75 for each 25-line page of the original transcript and $0.50 for each 25-line page of a
copy of the original transcript if copies are ordered. No one shall be required to
purchase a copy when requesting production of an original transcript, and access to the
record shall be permitted by the district court under the Kansas Open Records Act and
Supreme Court Rule 3.06. The “official district court transcript” shall be a transcript
produced by any Kansas Certified Shorthand Reporter.

(B) Effective July 1, 1996, the rate for “expedited” production of official district
court transcripts shall be no more than twice the rate provided in (A) above for each 25-
line page of the original transcript and one-fourth of this rate for each 25-line page of a
copy of the original transcript. Expedited production of official district court transcripts
shall mean delivery of the transcript on or before the third business day after the
request is made for expedited production.

(C) Effective July 1, 1996, the rate for “daily copy” production of official district
court transcripts shall be no more than four times the rate provided in (A) above for
each 25-line page of the original transcript and one-fourth of this rate for each 25-line
page of a copy of the original transcript. Requested “daily copy" production of official
district court transcripts shall mean delivery of the transcript at or before 9:00 a.m. the
next day.

(D) Effective July 1, 2002, a Kansas Certified Shorthand Reporter may provide
unedited text of proceedings. The rate for an unedited ASCII disk or unedited printed
copy shall be no more than $1.50 for each 25-line page. The unedited disk or printed
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copy shall not be certified and may not be used to contradict the official district court
transcript.

(E) Effective July 1, 2002, a Kansas Certified Shorthand Reporter who holds the

designation of Certified Realtime Reporter (CRR) from the National Court Reporters
Association may provide realtime reporting services. The rate for view only of
unedited text, with no later retention in printed or electronic format, shall be no more
than $1.50 for each 25-line page. The rate for receiving unedited realtime text for
viewing and retention in printed or electronic format shall be no more than $2.50 for
each 25-line page. Realtime reporting services shall not be certified and may not be
used to contradict the official district court transcript.

(FYB) A 25-line page of transcript, other than the title, index or final pages of a
transcript, shall consist of any 25 or more consecutive typewritten lines, double-spaced
on copyable paper not less than 8 ¥ inches in width, with a margin of not more than 1%
inches on the left and 5/8 of an inch on the right, exclusive of lines disclosing page and
numbering. Type shall be a conventional style typeface with no more than 12 and no
fewer than 9 characters per inch. Questions and answers shall each begin a new line,
and indentations for questions and answers shall not be more than four spaces from the
left margin line, including the designations for "Q" and "A." Indentations for speakers or
paragraphs shall not be more than 15 spaces from the left margin line, and such
paragraphed material shall not be more than four spaces from the left margin line.
Indentations for parenthetical notations shall not be more than 20 spaces from the left
margin.

By order of the Court, this 3 day of May, 2002.




