## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

## **Administrative Order**

FILED

2022-CM-074

October 19, 2022 DOUGLAS T. SHIMA CLERK OF APPELLATE COURTS

## **RE:** Ad Hoc Multi-Branch Communities of Practice State Delegation

On July 27, 2022, the Conference of Chief Justices and the Conference of State Court Administrators approved Resolution 1 in support of the Recommendations of the National Judicial Task Force to Examine the State Courts' Response to Mental Illness. The Resolution recognizes mental illness has enormous impacts on all aspects of the court system. The Resolution instructed judicial branch representatives nationwide to create and support state-level inter-branch mental health task forces and encourage local judges' participation.

Accordingly, pursuant to authority under Article 3, Section 1 of the Kansas Constitution, the Supreme Court hereby creates the Multi-Branch Communities of Practice State Delegation. Chief Judges are encouraged to create local delegations to act as liaisons to the State Delegation. The chief judge or chief judge's designee may lead the local delegation. The local delegation should include judges, community supervision officers, law enforcement, health care providers, behavioral health care providers, and any other local community members the chief judge deems appropriate.

The State Delegation will examine and analyze issues related to the district courts' response to mental illness, determine actions based on information from local delegations, and consider recommendations to the executive, legislative, and judicial branch. The State Delegation must meet at least twice per year.

The following person are hereby appointed to serve on the State Delegation through June 30, 2024:

District Judge Robert Wonnell, 10th Judicial District, Chair; Chief Judge Patricia Macke Dick, 27th Judicial District; District Judge Timothy McCarthy, 10th Judicial District; District Judge Michael Russell, 29th Judicial District; Lesia Dipman, Superintendent, Larned State Hospital ; Representative Branda Landwehr, District 105; Senator Pat Pettey, District 6; Dr. April Terry, Fort Hays State University; Amy Dean, Kansas Department of Corrections; Timothy DeWeese, Johnson County; Andy Brown, Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services; Audra Goldsmith, Council for State Governments; Shawn Jurgensen, Special Counsel to the Chief Justice; Marisa Bayless, Deputy Special Counsel to the Chief Justice; and Dr. Shawna Wright, University of Kansas Center for Telemedicine & Telehealth.

The State Delegation will be supported by Office of Judicial Administration personnel as needed.

Dated this 19th day of October 2022.

FOR THE COURT

Marla Luchert

MARLA LUCKERT Chief Justice