IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Administrative Order

FILED

February 24, 2021

DOUGLAS T. SHIMA CLERK OF APPELLATE COURTS

2021-CM-013

Re: Ad Hoc Court Record Committee

The Supreme Court hereby creates the Ad Hoc Court Record Committee (committee).

The members of the committee are charged with combining their individual knowledge and experiences to assist in examining and analyzing the issues related to the reliability of the court record. The Court supports the standardization of case processes across the state to enable workshare, to improve efficiency and effectiveness of the judicial branch, and to make the user experience consistent. The committee will:

- Study methods used in other states for capturing and ensuring the reliability of the court record;
- Study standards for recording capabilities and equipment;
- Explore workshare possibilities for official court reporters and transcriptionists;
- Examine job classifications and compensation for transcriptionists and official court reporters;
- Explore the option of certification programs for transcriptionists, electronic recorders, and electronic monitors;
- Evaluate case types that should or must have a court reporter and case types that should or may be recorded;
- Determine if any changes to statutes, supreme court rules, or supreme court orders are necessary;
- Consider the impact on service, finances, and staffing and identify likely costs, benefits, and sources of funding from adoption of any recommendations proposed;
- Develop recommendations for the Supreme Court regarding capturing the court record; and
- Deliver a report to the Supreme Court not later than July 29, 2022.

The following persons are hereby appointed to serve on the committee:

Hon. Kim Cudney, chief judge, 12th Judicial District, chair;

Hon. Bradley Ambrosier, chief judge, 26th Judicial District;

Hon. James McCabria, chief judge, 7th Judicial District;

Hon. Rachel Pickering, district court judge, 3rd Judicial District;

Hon. Courtney Boehm, district court judge, 8th Judicial District;

Dawn Rouse, court administrator, 13th Judicial District;

Ann McNett, chief clerk, 30th Judicial District;

Kathryn Corbin, trial court clerk IV, 10th Judicial District;

Sharon Cahill, managing court reporter, 29th Judicial District;

Lynelle Gottschalk, court reporter, 23rd Judicial District;

Lindsey Hager, court reporter, 18th Judicial District;

Shaun Higgins, court reporter, 11th Judicial District;

Cheryl Hayes, transcriptionist, 8th Judicial District;

Michael Kagay, Shawnee County district attorney, Topeka;

N. Russell Hazlewood, civil defense attorney, Wichita;

Michele O'Malley, civil plaintiff attorney, Kansas City;

Carrie Parker, criminal defense attorney, Lawrence;

Sarah Reichart, director of Kansas Supreme Court appeals; and

Krisena Silva, OJA district court clerk specialist.

The group will be supported by Amy Raymond, Director of Trial Court Programs, and other Office of Judicial Administration personnel as needed.

Dated this 24th day of February 2021.

FOR THE COURT

MARLA LUCKERT

Marla Luckert

Chief Justice