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 PER CURIAM:  Southwind Drilling, Inc., appeals the amount awarded to Mark 

Farmer by the Workers Compensation Appeals Board. Because Farmer was injured in the 

first week of employment, a specific statute applied requiring his average weekly wage 

be determined "based upon all of the evidence and circumstances, including the usual 

wage for similar services paid by the same employer . . . . The average weekly wage so 

determined shall not exceed the actual average weekly wage the employee was 

reasonably expected to earn in the employee's specific employment." K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 
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44-511(b)(2). The administrative law judge (ALJ) and Board disagreed on how to 

interpret this statute. The ALJ based its award on the earnings Southwind paid employees 

doing the same job in the 26 weeks preceding Farmer's injury. The Board based its 

decision on the earnings Southwind paid those employees the week following Farmer's 

injury, or, in other words, what Farmer could have reasonably expected to earn that week. 

 

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY 

 

 Southwind is an oil contractor that drills oil wells throughout Kansas. On January 

4, 2019, to better recruit and retain employees, Southwind gave every employee a $6 per 

hour pay raise.  

 

 On April 4, 2019, Farmer began working for Southwind as an evening tower floor 

hand on rig 1. The next day, a chain wrapped around his right wrist, jerking his right arm. 

Farmer sustained a 20% functional impairment to his right upper extremity. Had Farmer 

not been injured, he could have worked eight hours a day his first week earning $21 per 

hour.  

 

 To determine Farmer's average weekly wage under K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-

511(b)(2), the ALJ considered the earnings Southwind paid evening tower floor hands on 

rig 1 in the 26 weeks preceding Farmer's injury. Before the January 4 wage increase, 

floor hands earned $15 per hour. When Farmer started work, floor hands earned a rate of 

$21 per hour. Taking both rates into consideration, the ALJ found Farmer earned an 

average weekly wage of $634.16.  

 

 Farmer appealed the ALJ's decision to the Board. The Board disagreed with how 

the ALJ interpreted K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2), which directs how to calculate a 

worker's average weekly wage when the worker was injured in the first week of 

employment. The Board ruled the statute did not require the use of pre-injury wages to 
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determine the worker's average weekly wage. The Board instead used the wages Farmer 

could have expected to earn in the week following his injury if he had not been injured. 

The Board determined the $21 per hour rate was more representative of what Farmer was 

reasonably expected to earn. The Board found Farmer earned an average weekly wage of 

$1,092.  

 

 Southwind appeals.  

 

ANALYSIS 

  

 The Kansas Judicial Review Act (KJRA), K.S.A. 77-601 et seq., governs this 

court's review of cases arising under the Workers Compensation Act (Act), K.S.A. 44-

501 et seq. K.S.A. 44-556(a). Under the KJRA, this court can grant relief if it determines 

the Board "erroneously interpreted or applied the law" or the Board's action was based on 

a determination of fact not supported by substantial evidence. K.S.A. 77-621(c)(4), 

(c)(7).  

 

I. Did the Board erroneously interpret K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2)? 

 

 Southwind contends the Board ignored the plain language of the statute requiring 

Farmer's average weekly wage be calculated based on the usual wages Southwind paid to 

evening tower floor hands preceding Farmer's injury, and instead relied on Farmer's 

speculative future wages. According to Southwind, the Board's interpretation will lead to 

inequitable outcomes because if one of Farmer's coworkers who had worked for 

Southwind for more than six months had been injured on the same date as Farmer, that 

worker's average weekly wage would be calculated using, in part, the $15 per hour rate 

the worker earned prior to January 4. Southwind argues for subsections (1) and (2) of 

K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b) to be brought into workable harmony, they both must be 

interpreted to require consideration of wages paid in the 26 weeks preceding the date of 
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injury. It further insists the 2011 amendments to K.S.A. 44-511(b) shows an intent by the 

Legislature to depart from the prior method used to calculate average weekly wages 

based on speculative wages to one based on wages actually paid.  

 

 Farmer contends the plain language of K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2) grants the 

finder of fact wide latitude to consider pre- or post-injury wages to determine the 

worker's average weekly wage. Farmer points out the plain language states the average 

weekly wage is to be based on all the evidence and circumstances. The only limitation 

contained in the statute is the average weekly wage cannot exceed what the employee 

was reasonably expected to earn.  

 

 Interpretation of the Act is a question of law subject to de novo review. EagleMed 

v. Travelers Insurance, 315 Kan. 411, 420, 509 P.3d 471 (2022). The most fundamental 

rule of statutory construction is that the intent of the Legislature governs if that intent can 

be ascertained. Johnson v. U.S. Food Service, 312 Kan. 597, 600, 478 P.3d 776 (2021). 

An appellate court must first attempt to ascertain legislative intent through the statutory 

language enacted, giving common words their ordinary meanings. Bruce v. Kelly, 316 

Kan. 218, 224, 514 P.3d 1007 (2022). When a statute is plain and unambiguous, an 

appellate court should not speculate about the legislative intent behind that clear 

language, and it should refrain from reading something into the statute that is not readily 

found in its words. Schmidt v. Trademark, Inc., 315 Kan. 196, 200, 506 P.3d 267 (2022). 

Where there is no ambiguity, the court need not resort to statutory construction. Only if 

the statute's language or text is unclear or ambiguous does the court use canons of 

construction or legislative history to construe the Legislature's intent. In re Joint 

Application of Westar Energy & Kansas Gas and Electric Co., 311 Kan. 320, 328, 460 

P.3d 821 (2020).  

 

When construing statutes to determine legislative intent, appellate courts must 

consider various provisions of an act in pari materia with a view of reconciling and 
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bringing the provisions into workable harmony if possible. Bruce, 316 Kan. at 224. The 

courts must construe statutes to avoid unreasonable or absurd results and presume the 

Legislature does not intend to enact meaningless legislation. When the Legislature revises 

an existing law, the court presumes that the Legislature intended to change the law as it 

existed before the amendment. Jarvis v. Kansas Dept. of Revenue, 312 Kan. 156, 165-66, 

473 P.3d 869 (2020). A specific provision within a statute controls over a more general 

provision within the statute. In re E.J.D., 301 Kan. 790, 794, 348 P.3d 512 (2015).  

 

 K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b) directs how to determine an injured worker's 

average weekly wage for the purpose of computing benefits under the Act. Subsection 

(b)(1) governs most cases, where the injured worker had worked for the employer more 

than one calendar week. In such case, the computation is a straight-forward calculation 

based on the wages the employee actually earned during the weeks immediately 

preceding the injury:  

 

 "Unless otherwise provided, the employee's average weekly wage for the purpose 

of computing any compensation benefits provided by the workers compensation act shall 

be the wages the employee earned during the calendar weeks employed by the employer, 

up to 26 calendar weeks immediately preceding the date of the injury, divided by the 

number of calendar weeks the employee actually worked, or by 26 as the case may be." 

K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(1). 

 

 Subsection (b)(2) only applies to cases where the worker was injured in the first 

week of employment. The ALJ is directed to consider "all of the evidence and 

circumstances" including "the usual wage for similar services paid by the same 

employer" not to exceed the wage the employee "was reasonably expected to earn." 

 

 "(2) If actually employed by the employer for less than one calendar week 

immediately preceding the accident or injury, the average weekly wage shall be 

determined by the administrative law judge based upon all of the evidence and 
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circumstances, including the usual wage for similar services paid by the same employer, 

or if the employer has no employees performing similar services, the usual wage paid for 

similar services by other employers. The average weekly wage so determined shall not 

exceed the actual average weekly wage the employee was reasonably expected to earn in 

the employee's specific employment, including the average weekly value of any additional 

compensation." (Emphases added.) K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2). 

 

 In this case, the ALJ based Farmer's average weekly wage on evidence of what 

other floor hands for Southwind actually earned in the 26 weeks immediately preceding 

Farmer's injury. During part of that timeframe, floor hands earned $15 per hour, rather 

than the $21 per hour rate Farmer started at. The ALJ stated its decision was based on 

"the 'usual wage for similar services' actually paid by Southwind." 

 

 "The court has considered the evidence presented as to what floor hands for 

Southwind were actually earning in the twenty-six weeks preceding April 5, 2019. If one 

of Farmer's coworkers at Southwind had suffered a work injury at the same time as 

Farmer, and if the coworker had been employed for twenty-six weeks, his gross average 

weekly wage would have been computed by aggregating his wages and dividing by the 

number of weeks actually worked. Some of those wages in the twenty-six weeks 

preceding April 5, 2019 would have been paid at the lower rate of $15.00 per hour. 

Farmer argues that his wages should be computed based solely on $21.00 per hour, the 

hourly wage he was earning at the time of the accident. That would result in Farmer 

having a significantly higher gross average weekly wage than a coworker injured at the 

same time as Farmer. Farmer wants his wage computed based on projections of what he 

would have made, or may have made, rather than what a similarly placed coworker, 

earning the same floor hand wage, actually earned. The court will, instead, base Farmer's 

gross average weekly wage on the 'usual wage for similar services' actually paid by 

Southwind. 

 "The court finds and concludes that Farmer's gross average weekly wage for the 

26 weeks preceding the April 5, 2019 work accident was $634.16."  
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 The Board concluded K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2) granted the trier of fact 

"wide latitude" in determining the worker's average weekly wage. The Board disagreed 

with the ALJ's analysis, finding the evidence concerning what Farmer would have earned 

the week immediately following his injury, if he had not been injured, was "more 

representative" of what Farmer "could reasonably expect to earn" for an average weekly 

wage.  

 

  "The ALJ found Claimant's average weekly wage is $634.16. The ALJ looked at 

the wages actually earned by floor hands for the 26 week period prior to Claimant's 

injury. This fails to take into consideration the hourly pay increase, from $15 per hour to 

$21 per hour, implemented by Respondent in an attempt to halt their high turnover rate. 

A $6 per hour pay increase is significant and cannot be ignored. For example, assuming a 

40 hour work week, an individual would earn $240 more per week at $21 per hour as 

opposed to $15 per hour. Under the ALJ's analysis, over one-half of the 26 week time 

frame would be paid at the $15 per hour wage. 

 "Ms. Suchy testified, had Claimant not been injured, he would have worked eight 

hours a day, earning $21 an hour, and 8 hours of overtime earning $31.50, or $1,092 from 

April 5 through April 10, 2019 (immediately following Claimant's injury). Various 

employees worked Claimant's floor hand position during this time frame. They were paid 

the amount set forth above. 

 "K.S.A. 44-511(b)(2) grants the trier of fact wide latitude in determining an 

injured worker's average weekly wage when the worker has been employed for less than 

one calendar week. The ALJ chose to look at the wages earned by other floor hands for 

the 26 week time frame prior to Claimant's injury. The statute does not require a finding 

based on pre-injury wages. The Board disagrees with the ALJ's analysis because it 

disregards the significant hourly wage increase made on January 17, 2019. The Board 

finds the earnings made by Claimant's co-workers the week following his injury, and 

confirmed through the testimony of Ms. Suchy, is more representative of what Claimant 

could reasonably expect to earn for an average weekly wage. The Board finds Claimant's 

average weekly wage is $1,092."  
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The plain language of K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2) directs the fact-finder to consider 

all of the evidence and circumstances. 

 

 K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2) is unambiguous. The best indication of the 

Legislature's intent is the use of the word "all." The statute directs the fact-finder to 

consider "all of the evidence and circumstances," then says "including" the usual wage 

paid for similar services. K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2). It does not say to only 

consider the usual wage paid for similar services in the 26 weeks preceding the worker's 

injury. If the Legislature had intended the ALJ to only consider the usual wage paid for 

similar services in the weeks preceding the worker's injury, it would have just said so like 

it did in subsection (b)(1). And it would have excluded the language "all of the evidence 

and circumstances." K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2). 

  

 The plain language of K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2) also does not require the 

fact-finder to use 26 weeks of wages to determine the usual wage paid for similar 

services. Presumably the ALJ decided to use 26 weeks of wages because of the language 

in subsection (b)(1), even though subsection (b)(1) says "up to" 26 weeks. The Board 

decided that excluding the period before the wage increase was more representative of 

what Farmer was reasonably expected to earn. The statute is broad enough to permit the 

fact-finder to consider evidence concerning the amount the injured worker was 

specifically expected to earn the week of the injury if the worker had not been injured. 

That is what the Board did here. 

 

 One panel of this court recently recognized that K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 44-511(b)(1) 

and K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 44-511(b)(2) create "alternative preinjury average weekly wage 

calculation method[s]." Morris v. Shilling Construction Co. Inc., No. 123,297, 2021 WL 

5751704, at *16 (Kan. App. 2021) (unpublished opinion). The issue in Morris was 

whether K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 44-511(b)(1) required the ALJ to include all weeks that 

Morris worked in his average weekly wage calculation, including those weeks he worked 
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part time rather than full time. The panel noted that by using the term "'actually worked'" 

in subsection (b)(1), the Legislature intended that any week the worker worked for the 

employer be included in the average weekly wage calculation. 2021 WL 5751704, at *16. 

The panel stated the use of an alternative average weekly wage calculation method in 

subsection (b)(2) indicated the Legislature understood how to create alternative average 

weekly wage calculation methods for part-time work if it had so intended. 2021 WL 

5751704, at *16. So, while Morris is not controlling precedent in that it did not consider 

how to interpret subsection (b)(2), the panel recognized the two subsections created 

alternative average weekly wage calculation methods. 

 

 In Bowles v. TAP Enterprises, Inc., No. 106,964, 2012 WL 2149910, at *3-4 (Kan. 

App. 2012) (unpublished opinion), another panel of this court discussed the "'was 

reasonably expected to earn'" statutory language from an earlier version of this statute. 

The case did not involve a worker injured in the first week of employment, but the 

analysis is persuasive. The panel compared earlier versions of K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-

511(b)(1) and K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2), and the analysis can be applied to the 

statutes in their current form. The Bowles panel explained the difference: 

  

 "It is apparent that the legislature considered the calculation of the average 

weekly wage of an employee who worked at least 1 week to be a straightforward 

arithmetic calculation of dividing total pay by number of weeks worked. That calculation 

does not call upon the hearing officer or the Board to exercise any judgment or discretion 

in deciding what to consider in making it. Thus, the legislature chose the verb 'shall be' to 

describe this straightforward calculation. 

 "On the other hand, the legislature realized that the calculation is not so simple 

when an employee has worked less than 1 week for the employer. The legislature could 

have required a calculation similar to the one in sentence 1 that extrapolates the 

employee's pay for the few days worked to a full weeks' pay. But it chose a different 

method: the calculation of the average weekly wage based upon evidence and 

circumstances, including the usual wage paid for similar services. This is not the 

straightforward arithmetic calculation called for in sentence 1. The hearing officer and 
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the Board are required to exercise judgment in identifying the relevant evidence and 

circumstances bearing upon the issue of what the employee's average weekly wage would 

have been had the employee worked for at least 1 week." 2012 WL 2149910, at *3-4. 

 

 The Board has at least five times considered the average weekly wage for a worker 

injured during the first week of employment. In one case, the Board calculated the 

claimant's average weekly wage by using a wage statement for an employee performing 

similar services for the employer. The wage statement covered a 26-week period running 

from about three months before to three months after the claimant's injury. Harlan v. 

USF Holland, Inc., No. 1,054,886, 2013 WL 1384388, at *8 (Kan. Work. Comp. App. 

Bd. March 5, 2013). 

 

 In three cases, the Board calculated the claimant's average weekly wage based on 

testimony concerning what the claimant was expected to earn the first week of 

employment if the claimant had not been injured. Olden v. Treescape & Irrigation, Inc., 

No. 233,582, 2001 WL 1725725, at *3 (Kan. Work. Comp. App. Bd. December 28, 

2001); Ghaedsharafi v. St. Louis Bread Co., No. 230,922, 1999 WL 722509, at *2 (Kan. 

Work. Comp. App. Bd. August 12, 1999); Perryman v. ABF Freight Systems, No. 

214,180, 1998 WL 462633, at *1, 3 (Kan. Work. Comp. App. Bd. July 8, 1998). 

 

 In another case, the Board found the best evidence of the claimant's average 

weekly wage was testimony that part-time employees "generally worked approximately 

30 hours per week" over the evidence of what claimant actually earned the five days he 

worked for the employer because two of those days were after claimant's injury "and 

would not be used to calculate a preinjury wage." Henderson v. Shawnee County, No. 

227,046, 1999 WL 1113635, at *1, 3 (Kan. Work. Comp. App. Bd. November 18, 1999). 

 

 From these cases, it is apparent that the majority approach is what the Board did 

here, i.e., determine what the worker was expected to earn the first week of employment 



11 

 

if the worker had not been injured. But the statute does not require that approach. The 

fact-finder must consider all the relevant evidence and circumstances presented. In some 

cases, the best evidence of the worker's average weekly wage may be testimony 

concerning what the worker was expected to earn that first week. In other cases, the best 

evidence may be employment records for similarly situated employees in the weeks 

preceding the injury. The fact-finder must consider "all of the evidence and 

circumstances." K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2). 

 

 The Board recognized the wide latitude authorized by K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-

511(b)(2). Its interpretation of the statute was not error.  

 

Different outcomes are inevitable. 

 

 Southwind's concern about so-called "inequitable results" between the application 

of K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(1) and (b)(2) is inevitable in cases where there was a pay 

increase at some point. K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(1) bases the worker's average 

weekly wage on actual time worked for "up to" 26 calendar weeks. If another employee 

of Southwind had been doing the same job as Farmer for over 26 weeks and had been 

injured on the same day as Farmer, that employee's average weekly wage would have 

included both the $15 per hour and $21 per hour rate. By contrast, if an employee 

performing the same job was injured after working exactly one calendar week, that 

employee's average weekly wage likely would be determined under K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 

44-511(b)(2) based on only that one week's wages at $21 per hour. 

 

Workable harmony does not mean the calculation methods must be the same. 

 

 Subsections (b)(1) and (b)(2) can be brought into workable harmony without 

interpreting them the same. As stated above, determining the average weekly wage of an 

employee who worked at least one week for the employer is a straightforward 
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mathematical calculation of dividing total pay by number of weeks worked. That 

calculation does not call upon the hearing officer or the Board to exercise any judgment 

or discretion. However, the calculation is more complicated when an employee worked 

less than one week for the employer. In such case, the hearing officer and the Board must 

exercise judgment and identify the relevant evidence and circumstances from the 

evidence presented at the hearing. See Bowles, 2012 WL 2149910, at *3-4. The available 

evidence might be different in different cases.  

 

The 2011 amendments did not materially alter the language at issue here. 

 

 While the 2011 amendments made significant changes to the calculation of 

average weekly wages for most cases, the amendments did not materially alter the 

language at issue in this case. The amendments merely expanded the applicability of the 

language to all workers injured in the first week of employment, regardless of what 

metric their money rate was fixed by (year, month, week, hour, commission, flat-rate for 

a specific job, etc.). The changes to K.S.A. 44-511(b) are illustrated here: 

 

 "(5) If at the time of the accident the money rate is fixed by the output of the 

employee, on a commission or percentage basis, on a flat-rate basis for performance of a 

specified job, or on any other basis where the money rate is not fixed by the week, month, 

year or hour, and if the employee has been employed by the employer at least one 

calendar week immediately preceding the date of the accident, the average gross weekly 

wage shall be the gross amount of money earned during the number of calendar weeks so 

employed, up to a maximum of 26 calendar weeks immediately preceding the date of the 

accident, divided by the number of weeks employed, or by 26 as the case may be, plus 

the average weekly value of any additional compensation and the value of the employee's 

average weekly overtime computed as provided in paragraph (4) of this subsection. 

 "(2) If the employee had been in the employment of actually employed by the 

employer for less than one calendar week immediately preceding the accident or injury, 

the average gross weekly wage shall be determined by the administrative law judge based 

upon all of the evidence and circumstances, including the usual wage for similar services 
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paid by the same employer, or if the employer has no employees performing similar 

services, the usual wage paid for similar services by other employers. The average gross 

weekly wage so determined shall not exceed the actual average gross weekly wage the 

employee was reasonably expected to earn in the employee's specific employment, 

including the average weekly value of any additional compensation. and the value of the 

employee's average weekly overtime computed as provided in paragraph (4) of this 

subsection. In making any computations under this paragraph (5), workweeks during 

which the employee was on vacation, leave of absence, sick leave or was absent the 

entire workweek because of illness or injury shall not be considered." L. 2011, ch. 55,     

§ 13. 

 

 The Bowles panel considered whether the 2011 amendments changed the meaning 

of this provision concerning the reasonable earnings expectation for a worker employed 

for less than a week. The panel concluded the amendment did not signal a change from 

the Legislature's prior intent. 2012 WL 2149910, at *4. 

 

 In sum, the Board did not err in its interpretation of K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-

511(b)(2).  

 

II. Did the Board erroneously apply K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2) to the facts? 

 

 Southwind briefly argues the Board erred by assigning Farmer an average weekly 

wage in excess of the actual average weekly wage he was reasonably expected to earn. 

Southwind bases its argument on the wages that Farmer actually earned after returning to 

work in September 2019. Southwind admits in its reply brief that the statute "allows the 

finder of fact to consider an array of evidence and circumstances when calculating the 

AWW of an employee injured during the first week of employment." Southwind does not 

actually contest any of the factual findings made by the Board. 

 

 Farmer contends the Board did not err because its average weekly wage 

determination was supported by the testimony of Jill Suchy—vice president of operations 
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for Southwind—concerning what amount Farmer was expected to earn the week 

immediately following his injury.  

 

Appellate courts review a challenge to the Board's factual findings in light of the 

record as a whole to determine whether the findings are supported to the appropriate 

standard of proof by substantial evidence. See K.S.A. 77-621(c)(7); Koppa v. Interim 

Health Care of Wichita, No. 111,592, 2015 WL 1124693, at *7 (Kan. App. 2015) 

(unpublished opinion) (ruling the record failed to reflect substantial competent evidence 

supporting the Board's average weekly wage calculation). 

 

 When the appellant argues the Board erroneously applied the law to undisputed 

facts, appellate courts exercise de novo review. Mera-Hernandez v. U.S.D. 233, 305 Kan. 

1182, 1185, 390 P.3d 875 (2017). 

 

 Implicit in K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2) is that the worker's average weekly 

wage is to be based on the wages the worker would have earned if the worker had not 

been injured. The worker's average weekly wage is not based solely on the wages that the 

worker actually earned like in subsection (b)(1). To base the average weekly wage on the 

amount the worker earned after being injured would frustrate the purpose of the Act. The 

language "reasonably expected to earn" means expected to earn if the worker had not 

been injured. K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 44-511(b)(2). Southwind's argument has no merit.  

 

 The Board's interpretation is consistent with the statute, and substantial competent 

evidence supports the Board's decision.  

 

 Affirmed. 


