## JUDICIAL DISTRICT NOMINATING COMMISSION 2025 SPECIAL ELECTIONS

The purpose of each commission is to nominate persons for appointment to the office of district judge and to appoint persons to the office of district magistrate judge in judicial districts that have adopted the nonpartisan method for the selection of judges.

The Clerk of the Supreme Court recently conducted special elections for lawyer members whose terms are expiring on March 3, 2025. Below are the election results.

JUDICIAL DISTRICT		ELECTED LAWYER MEMBER	TERM EXPIRES
Fifth#*◆	(2 positions)	Deborah A. Huth To Be Appointed	March 6, 2028
Eighth#*	(2 positions)	Arvid V. Jacobson Michael Powers	March 6, 2028 March 2, 2026
Eleventh#	(1 position)	Michael J. Gayoso, Jr.	March 6, 2028
Thirtieth#	(1 position)	Tracey T. Beverlin	March 6, 2028

<sup>\*</sup> The number of nominees did not exceed the number of positions to be filled in this Judicial District, and under K.S.A. 20-2904, the nominee was declared elected.

Posted: February 19, 2025

<sup>#</sup> Special election - position previously filled by appointment.

<sup>♦</sup> The number of nominees is less than the number of positions to be filled in this Judicial District, and under K.S.A. 20-2906(e), the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall appoint a successor to the position.